State of Origin Series – Australian Rugby League

Brad King
by Brad King
State of Origin 2020

The State of Origin series is one of the most competitive rugby league events in the world. It pits the New South Wales Blues against the Queensland Maroons. The animosity between the sides ensures that the State of Origin series is an event that captivates not only rugby league fanatics but also fans of every sport.

The teams have played out some memorable series’ down the years, and that only promises to continue in 2020, with the first match between the two arch-rivals getting underway on the 4th of November. This first match will take place at the Adelaide Oval before game two takes place a week later at the ANZ Stadium in Sydney. The series will come to a close as the two sides meet on the 18th of November at the Suncorp Stadium in Brisbane. 

State of Origin History

There is no bigger rivalry in the world of rugby league than the one between these two sides, and that has been highlighted by the viewing figures that the State of Origin series has attracted throughout its series. Tickets are impossible to get hold of, with players involved often revealing that they believe that this is the pinnacle of the sport.

Players that compete in this match will be representing the state where they made their first professional appearance, which has led to a couple of significant instances throughout its history. The State of Origin was first introduced in the late 70s, with Queensland losing the first two matches.

However, it wasn’t a concept that was warmly welcomed by club sides at first, with Sydney clubs such as South Sydney Rabbitohs, St. George Dragon, and Eastern Suburbs Roosters all refusing to allow their players to get involved in the State of Origin. It’s hard to argue against the 1980 match excelling in ensuring that the series gained international pedigree. This was the first match to be a sell-out, with 33,210 Queensland fans in attendance, with the home side running out 20-10 winners.

Overall Standings in the State of Origin

It was revealed in 1982 that the match in the same year would be the first official meeting between Queensland and New South Wales. Queensland won the first three series’ before New South Wales broke the stranglehold in 1985 and 1986. The second of those wins for NSW was the first time that one of the sides has won with a whitewash, as they won 3-0.

Queensland was gunning for revenge in 1987 and won the series in 1987, 1988, and 1989, with the latter two wins also being whitewashed. Overall, Queensland has won the series on 21 of the 38 occasions, while New South Wales has won on 15 occasions. There have also been two drawn series between the two sides. Including the one-off games that were played prior to 1982 and in 1987, there have been 117 meetings between the two rivals. Queensland holds the advantage as they have won on 62 occasions, while New South Wales has won 53 times.

Since 2006, Queensland have been the stand-out side, as they have won eleven of the 14 series. That also includes a staggering eight-year dominance between 2006 and 2013. However, New South Wales has re-emerged as a contender for the shield, as they have won in each of the last two years.

State of Origin Records

State of Origin Series The State of Origin is packed full of history, with that ranging between individual records and collective records. Game three between the sides in 2000 holds records for the most total points scored in the match, as well as the most scored by a team in the State of Origin. Those records were set at New South Wales beat Queensland 56-16. However, the biggest winning margin in the series came in 2015 in game three when Queensland beat New South Wales 52-6.

Queensland’s dominance between 2006 and 2013 means that they hold the record for the most consecutive series wins, while they also hold the record for completing the cleanest sweeps in the history of the State of Origin. Meanwhile, Cameron Smith has played in the most games, as he represented Queensland on 42 occasions between 2003 and 2017, while Smith also holds the record for the most wins.

Queensland’s Jonathan Thurston holds the record for the most points scored in the series, as he scored 224 between 2005 and 2017. Meanwhile, Greg Inglis holds the record for the most tries scored, as he scored 18 between 2006 and 2018.

Betting Markets for the State of Origin

As you would expect from one of the most intense sporting fixtures in the world of sport, there are a plethora of ways that you will be able to bet on the State of Origin. Gamblers will be able to make the most of the markets available as they look for avenues for revenue.

Match Betting

The most convenient way to bet on the State of Origin is to place a wager on the team that will win each respective match during the series.

Series Betting

Instead of betting on each individual match, you can instead opt to place a wager on the team that will be crowned winners of the State of Origin after the third and final match.

First Tryscorer

When it comes to betting on a single match, the most popular is the option to bet on the first try-scorer in the match. All you will need to do to get the returns is stake your money on the player that scores the first try in the match.

Wally Lewis Medal Winner

The most illustrious honour for players when it comes to the State of Origin is the Wally Lewis Medal. This is awarded to the player that has been the standout one across the whole series. You will be able to bet on who picks up this medal with the leading sportsbooks.

The State of Origin will once again capture the imagination of sports fans across Australia over the next three weeks, and betting on these markets is the best way to get closer to the action. It will be exciting to see what's in store for fans for the State of Origin series 2020. 

more Articles

Weekly Online Casino Offers, Right To Your Inbox

Don’t be the last to know about latest bonuses, new casino launches or exclusive promotions. Join us today!

By subscribing, you confirm that you are 18+