Beginners Guide To Betting On LaLiga

Top casinos related to this game

Table Of Contents

One of the most exciting leagues in Europe comes in the form of LaLiga. The Spanish top flight is home to some of the most prestigious teams in the world, including Barcelona, Real Madrid, and Atletico Madrid. You can find out more about LaLiga below, including some of the significant LaLiga players and how to bet on the competitive competition.

LaLiga History

LaLiga is one of the oldest domestic leagues in Europe, as it has been competing every season since 1929. The league is also known as the Primera Division in Spain, but LaLiga is the name across the rest of the world. The league was founded by Jose Maria Acha in April 1928, as he proposed the national league of Span. It was agreed by Real Federacion Espanola de Futbol in the same year that the competition would be made up of ten teams. Its inaugural season was made up of previous Copa Del Rey winners, including Real Madrid, Barcelona, Athletic Bilbao, Real Union, and Real Sociedad.

Meanwhile, Atletico Madrid, Europa, and Espanyol also earned their spot in the LaLiga fixtures as losing finalists in the Copa Del Rey. Racing de Santander was the final team to earn a spot in the league and qualified through a knockout format. Since its inception, only three clubs have never been relegated after finishing in the bottom three of the LaLiga table, and those teams are Real Madrid, Barcelona, and Athletic Bilbao.

How To Bet On LaLiga

Many of the leading sportsbooks for soccer betting offer betting opportunities for LaLiga fixtures. If you’re a newcomer to the competition, then you can find out more about the markets that you can wager on below.

Outright Betting

One of the most popular forms of betting on LaLiga can be found in the outright section. Here, bets can be placed on markets such as LaLiga title winners, teams that will be relegated, and a top-four finish. These markets are open throughout the season, but the best time to get value on selections is at the beginning of the season. If you make a wager on a team to win the league title, then the bet will be paid out if the selected team is crowned champions at the conclusion of the season.

Match Odds

When it comes to betting on LaLiga teams throughout the season, the most popular wager is on the match odds market. This is the most straightforward betting market for newcomers to betting to understand, as the stake will be placed on the outcome of the match in 90 minutes. Bettors will have three options, which include both LaLiga teams, as well as the draw. The bet is settled at the end of the match, and returns are awarded if the selection was correct. Many bettors also use this market as part of a longer bet, as they can create accumulators including a number of different wins.

Both Teams to Score

Not all bettors will want to wager on an outcome in a LaLiga fixture. Therefore, both teams scoring is always an exciting alternative. Here, bettors will stake their wager on the question of whether both teams will score at least once in the fixture. If a gambler places their stake on ‘yes’ then both teams must score at least once in order for the bet to be a winner. Like the match odds market, this is another popular market when it comes to adding multiple selections to form an accumulator. However, in order to get returns on an accumulator, all predictions must be correct.

LaLiga Format

LaLiga is very similar to the other major leagues in Europe. The LaLiga table consists of 20 clubs from the country, with the team finishing top being crowned champions after 38 games. Teams that finish second, third and fourth will qualify for the Champions League, while the teams that finish fifth and sixth qualify for the Europa League. Meanwhile, the club that finishes seventh earns qualification to the Europa Conference League.

Like in other major European leagues, the teams that finish in the bottom three places are automatically relegated to the second tier. The three teams that replace them for the following season are made up of the top two from the Segunda Division, with the third team achieving their spot through the playoffs. Throughout the LaLiga campaign, every team faces off against each rival on two occasions; once at home and once away from home. Three points are awarded for a victory, while one point is picked up for both sides if a fixture ends in a draw.

LaLiga Records

LaLiga clubs have an excellent record in European competition, as no league has produced more Champions League, Europa League, or UEFA Super Cup winners than the Spanish top-flight. As well as that, more Ballon d’Or winners (23) have won the award while playing in Spain than in any of the other European leagues. Real Madrid is the most successful club in the history of LaLiga, as the Spanish giants have won the league title on 35 occasions.

Eight other teams have been crowned champions of Spain. Barcelona is the second-most successful club, while Atletico Madrid, Bilbao, Valencia, and Real Sociedad are the only other sides to have won multiple titles. Deportivo La Coruna, Sevilla, and Real Betis have all won the Spanish top-flight title on one occasion.

The highest scorer in the history of LaLiga is former Barcelona superstar Lionel Messi, who scored 474 goals in 520 appearances. However, Cristiano Ronaldo has the better ratio, as he scored an average of 1.07. The record for the number of appearances in LaLiga is currently held by Andoni Zubizarreta, who played 622 games across spells with Athletic Bilbao, Barcelona, and Valencia. However, Joaquin is closing in on that record, as he has appeared 599 times.

Other Games