Greek Super League 1 – A Beginner’s Betting Guide

Top casinos related to this game

Table Of Contents

Greece shocked the world when they were crowned European champions in 2004. That led to an increased spotlight on their domestic league, and that continues to this day. There is a range of soccer betting markets available to bet on Super League 1 fixtures throughout the season. You can find out more about the betting opportunities and history of the league here.

Super League 1 History

The Super League 1 is considered to be the 13th-best league in Europe by UEFA. It has undergone a number of changes throughout its history. It was formed back in 1927 and was known by the name of the Panhellenic Championship. After that, it was called the Alpha Ethniki in 1959, and then Super League 1 was born in 2006. The league has been dominated by the same Super League 1 team throughout its history, with only six teams have won the title since 1927.

The first Greek domestic league was founded by the Hellenic Football Federation in 1926, with the first season taking place a year later. A number of prestigious teams didn’t take part in the inaugural league, with AEK Athens, Olympiacos, and Panathinaikos all not involved due to conflicts with EPO. However, this changed in 1959, as the first national championship was staged. It was a round-robin competition and involved 16 teams. Teams that competed in the competition were made up of the top four in the Athens FCA, Piraeus FC, and Macedonia FC. Meanwhile, the top two from each of the North Group and Sub-Group from the regional divisions were also involved. The first official national champions of Greece were Panathinaikos.

How To Bet On Super League 1

Betting on the Super League 1 teams throughout the season is extremely popular with online sportsbooks. A range of betting markets can be found to bet on the Super League 1 fixtures. Below, we will go through some of the most popular markets available throughout the campaign.

Both Teams To Score

Both teams to score in the match is one of the most popular when it comes to placing wagers on Super League 1. In this market, the bettor must accurately predict whether both teams in a certain fixture will find the net. If the bettor selects ‘yes’, then both teams must score in 90 minutes in order to get the returns.

Outright Winner Betting

The outright betting market is also exceptionally popular. This market is open throughout the campaign, but the best time to get the best odds is at the beginning of the season. In order to get the returns from this bet, the selection that is made must be sitting on top of the Super League 1 table after the playoff round has been completed.

Player To Score Betting

There are some incredibly talented Super League 1 players in the league. That makes the player score market a popular selection. Unlike the first goalscorer market, here the player selected must find the net within 90 minutes in order for the bettor to claim returns. It doesn’t matter whether the player selected scores first or second, they just need to score within 90 minutes for it to be a winner.

Super League 1 Teams & Format

The Super League 1 is a very interesting competition to watch throughout the season, as every game often has something riding on it. During the regular season, each team will face each rival on two occasions; meaning that 26 games are played during the regular season. However, this isn’t the end of the campaign, as the top six teams go into a ten-game championship to determine the championship winners and the sides that will enter the Champions League and Europa League. The team that ends the season as champions are the only side that enters the Champions League, while the sides finishing second, third and fourth enter the Europa Conference League.

The bottom eight also go into a playoff round, and the side that finishes bottom drops directly into Super League 2. Meanwhile, the team that finishes 13th will have one final opportunity to secure their Super League 1 status for the following season, as they will clash with a team from Super League 2 for the final spot in the top flight.

Super League 1 Records

Despite the Super League 1 being in operation for nearly 100 years, only six teams have been crowned champions of Greece. Olympiacos are by far the most successful team in the competition, as they have won an astounding 47 top-flight titles. The next most successful is Panathinaikos, who have won 20 titles. AEK is the only other side to have won more than ten Greek championships. Other sides to have been crowned Greek champions include Aris, PAOK, and AEL.

No player in the history of the league has played more times than Mimis Domazos, who played 536 times across spells with Panathinaikos and AEK Athens. No foreign player has made more appearances than Krzysztof Warzycha, as the Pole played 390 times for Panathinaikos during his career. Meanwhile, the highest scorer in the history of Super League 1 is Thomas Mavros, who scored 260 goals in spells with AEK Athens and Panionios.

Other Games