Everything You Need To Know About The Ashes Test Cricket Series

Jack Harris
by Jack Harris
The Ashes Test Cricket Series 2019

The 2019 Ashes Test Cricket Series, the 71st Ashes series, is an ancient rivalry Test cricket series contested between Australia and England. Each country takes turns in hosting a five-Test series every two years, with the winner being granted the honour of holding the Ashes urn. The first series was organised between 1882-1883, with the most recent series being held in Australia in 2017-2018.

When Does The 2019 Ashes Test Take Place?

The 2019 Ashes will take place between August 1st and September 16th, 2019. However, the series will begin later than the previous series, given the fact that the 2019 Cricket World Cup will take place between May and June in England and Wales. This particular Ashes series is also the first Test match part of the inaugural ICC World Test Championship in 2019-2021. The exact dates of each of the five fixtures in the series are, as follows:

  • The First Test will be held in Edgbaston, Birmingham in England between the 1st of August and the 5th of August

  • The Second Test will be held on the Lord's Cricket Ground, a famous cricket venue in St John's Wood, London, between the 14th and the 18th of August 14-18

  • The Third Test will be held at the Headingley Cricket Ground part of the Headingley Stadium complex located in Leeds. The series will take place between August 22-August 26.

  • The Fourth Test will be held at the Old Trafford Cricket Ground in Greater Manchester, near the home of the world-famous Manchester United team. The event will take place between September 4th - September 8th.

  • The Fifth Test will be organised between September 12-16 at The Oval, which is an international cricket ground found in Kennington, in south London.

What Are The Official Start Times Of The Ashes Series?

Depending on the state of the weather, play will start at 11 am BST each day during each of the scheduled Test matches. This should leave you plenty of time to research some top sportsbooks online and get ready to wager every day.

Where Can I Watch the Ashes Test Series?

All of the Ashes Test series will be broadcast live on free-to-air television by Channel Nine in Australia, and in the UK on  Sky Sports Cricket, as Sky Sports has purchased the broadcast rights to all England home matches. 

BBC 5 Live radio will also broadcast the series during their Test Match Special show. You can also keep an eye on The Telegraph Sport's live coverage and analysis of the event.

Previous Results

Whether you are looking forward to placing some sports bets online and the Ashes Test Series has captured your interest all of a sudden, or you are a cricket aficionado and you cannot wait for the series to begin so you can place your cricket bets online, it would help to know what happened in the last series.

To keep it short, England went on a crazy streak of bad luck. The team was defeated 4-0 by the Aussies and, unfortunately, gave their fans very few reasons to get excited. The first game in Brisbane was won by David Warner's unbeaten 87, which led the team from Down Under to a 10-wicket win. Shaun Marsh managed to beat the English team in Adelaide with his 126, and Steve Smith kneeled down England in Perth. The series culminated with an innings defeat that brought the Ash urn back to Australia.

England managed to draw in Melbourne thanks to their superstar player Alastair Cook. However, the tour ended with another innings defeat that took place in Sydney.

Recently, Australia and England also met in a warm-up game and also had two different encounters during the one-day Cricket World Cup. Australia won the warm-up game that was played at the Rose Bowl by 12 runs and the game at Lord's by 64 runs, while England won the semifinal rematch by 8 wickets with 107 balls to spare on their way to winning the tourney first time ever.

Lord's Test Will Benefit The Ruth Strauss Foundation

The second day of the Lord’s Test has been announced to benefit the Ruth Strauss Foundation to fight cancer. The foundation had been named after Andrew Strauss' wife who died from a rare form of cancer. English Ashes-winning captain Andrew Strauss quit his position as England’s director of cricket in order to take care of his wife. The participating teams will wear red caps along with red stumps and all fans that will be participating in the event are asked to wear red. Aussies have a similar tradition in the form of Jane McGrath Day which will be held on the third day of the Sydney Test to honour the memory of Glenn McGrath, the wife of legendary Australian fast bowler Glenn McGrath. Glenn has passed away because of breast cancer, and pink will replace the colour red, while the proceeds will benefit the McGrath Foundation.

Cricket - More than a game!  The Ashes - More than a rivalry!

more Articles

Weekly Online Casino Offers, Right To Your Inbox

Don’t be the last to know about latest bonuses, new casino launches or exclusive promotions. Join us today!

By subscribing, you confirm that you are 18+