World Snooker Championship

Charlotte Wilson
by Charlotte Wilson
World Snooker Championship

One of the most prestigious events on the snooker calendar is creeping into sight as the World Snooker Championship 2023 gets underway on April 15. The world’s best players will be involved throughout the event, but only the top finishing star will walk away with the £500,000 winner's share of the £2.39 prize money available.

When Is The World Snooker Championship 2023?

The World Snooker Championship is one of the most prestigious events in the world of snooker, and it will get underway this year on April 15. The final of the event will take place on May 1. It holds more significance than most events on the snooker calendar, as it is the 15th and final competition that offers ranking points to the player involved.

Where Is It Being Held?

As has traditionally been the case, the World Snooker Championship will take place at the iconic Crucible Theatre in Sheffield. The event has been staged at the iconic venue throughout much of its history, with this year’s edition being the 47th straight year that the famous venue in Sheffield has held the World Snooker Championship.


The field for the prestigious event got underway on April 3, with the final players making the line-up determined following the qualification phase on April 12. All qualifying matches were staged at the English Institute of Sport in Sheffield, with over 128 players in action for their spot in the competition. However, only 16 players are able to make it through into the main draw.

The main competition will then get underway on April 15, with the first-round matches played between the opening day and April 20, with all games played as the best of 19 frames. Second round action then takes centre stage, with players competing over the best of 25 frames between April 20 and 24.

Action really heats up when the quarterfinals get underway on April 25, with the final players progressing determined the following day. This round continues to follow the same format as the previous one, with players playing over the best of 25 frames.

The final four players will then clash in the semi-finals, which will be staged between April 27 and April 29. These games will feature more action on the table, with players looking to book a spot in the final competing in the best of 35 frames. After this, the final two players will clash in the final, which will be played over two days over the best of 35 frames. It will be a historic moment, as referee Brendan Moore will oversee his third World Championship final, and it will also be his final match in the sport.

Who Are The Leading Contenders?


Ronnie O’Sullivan

There’s no denying who the standout favourite to win the event this year is, as legendary player Ronnie O’Sullivan looks to claim an eighth world title. The Englishman landed his seventh title last year, and he will look to tie the records of Fred Davis and John Pulman and become the second most successful player in the history of the event.

Mark Selby

The second-highest ranked player in the championship this year is Mark Selby. The 39-year-old was previously world number one in April of last year, and he has won a total of nine Triple Crown events throughout his career. Only O’Sullivan, Hendry, and Steve Davis have landed more honours throughout their career. Selby will be aiming to win a fifth World Championship this year, which would put him up to fifth on the all-time list.

Judd Trump

Judd Trump is currently ranked as the fifth-best player in the world, but he was previously ranked as number one. Throughout his career, he has landed 23 ranking titles and has won four Triple Crown events. He is widely regarded as one of the very best players in the world, and he comes into the event after finishing second at the World Grand Prix earlier this year. However, it may be a slight concern that he has lost three of his previous four ranking finals.

Neil Robertson

There could be Australian success at the World Championship this year as Neil Robertson is one of the only Aussies involved in the event. He made history earlier in his career by becoming the first Australian to win a ranking event, and he is the only non-UK player to have completed the Triple Crown following his success in the Masters in 2022. To this point, he has won 23 ranking titles. However, he is yet to win the World Championship since his maiden success in 2010.

Conclusion- Who Will Win The World Championship 2023?

This looks like a very competitive edition of the World Championship, and there will likely be no shortage of drama throughout the competition. However, O’Sullivan often comes alive when the lights shine brightest, and it may be difficult to look past the greatest snooker player that has ever lived.

Keep up with the latest news and the newest online real money casino world here at CasinosHub!

more Articles

Weekly Online Casino Offers, Right To Your Inbox

Don’t be the last to know about latest bonuses, new casino launches or exclusive promotions. Join us today!

By subscribing, you confirm that you are 18+